Transitions People in Academe

Tanya Rosen-Jones

Sean M. Decatur
March 25, 2013


Steve Coll, a Pulitzer Prize winner, former managing editor of The Washington Post, and departing president of the New America Foundation, has been appointed dean of the Columbia Graduate School of Journalism. He succeeds Nicholas Lemann, who has been dean since 2003 and will remain at the school as a professor.

Sean M. Decatur, dean of the College of Arts and Sciences at Oberlin College, will become president of Kenyon College, another liberal-arts institution in Ohio. Kenyon and Oberlin attract many of the same applicants.

Monica Medina, a special assistant to the U.S. secretary of defense, will become the inaugural director of the Wharton Public Policy Initiative in April. The project offers nonpartisan research by faculty members at the University of Pennsylvania's Wharton School to help guide government policy makers. Ms. Medina will be based in Washington.

Pamela Gunter-Smith, provost and academic vice president of Drew University, will become president of York College of Pennsylvania after the current chief, George W. Waldner, retires at the end of June.

Kimberly R. Cline, president of Mercy College and former chief financial officer of the State University of New York, will become president of Long Island University in July. She will succeed the long-serving David J. Steinberg, who is retiring.

Deirdre Mageean, a geography professor and a former vice chancellor for research and graduate studies at East Carolina University, will become provost and senior vice president for academic affairs at Cleveland State University in July.


V. Lane Rawlins, president of the University of North Texas since 2010, says he will retire by the end of the year.

Jane D. McAuliffe will step down as president of Bryn Mawr College after her current term ends, in June, the college's Board of Trustees said. She has led the institution since 2008.