Obama Names Members to Council of Advisors on Science and Technology

April 27, 2009

Washington — President Obama announced the 20 members of the President’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology in a speech this morning at the National Academy of Sciences, according to a statement issued by the White House. Following are the council’s members, who will advise the president on science policy:

Rosina Bierbaum, dean of the School of Natural Resources and Environment at the University of Michigan at Ann Arbor.

Christine Cassel, president and chief executive of the American Board of Internal Medicine.

Christopher Chyba, a professor of astrophysical sciences and international affairs at Princeton University and member of the Committee on International Security and Arms Control of the National Academy of Sciences.

S. James Gates Jr., a professor of physics and director of the Center for String and Particle Theory at the University of Maryland at College Park.

John Holdren (co-chair), director of the Office of Science and Technology Policy in the Executive Office of the President and assistant to the president for science and technology.

Shirley Ann Jackson, president of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute.

Eric Lander (co-chair), director of the Broad Institute of Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Harvard University, a professor of biology at MIT, a professor of systems biology at Harvard Medical School, and a member of the Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research.

Richard Levin, president of Yale University.

Chad Mirkin, a professor of materials science and engineering, chemistry, and medicine at Northwestern University, and director of Northwestern’s International Institute of Nanotechnology.

Mario Molina, a professor of chemistry and biochemistry at the University of California at San Diego and the Center for Atmospheric Sciences at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography, and director of the Mario Molina Center for Energy and Environment, in Mexico City.

Ernest J. Moniz, a professor of physics and engineering systems, director of the Energy Initiative, and director of the Laboratory for Energy and the Environment at MIT.

Craig Mundie, chief research and strategy officer at the Microsoft Corporation.

William Press, a professor of computer sciences at the University of Texas at Austin.

Maxine Savitz, retired general manager of Technology Partnerships at Honeywell Inc.

Barbara Schaal, a professor of biology at Washington University in St. Louis.

Eric Schmidt, chairman and chief executive of Google Inc. and a member of the Board of Directors of Apple Inc.

Daniel Schrag, a professor of geology in the department of earth and planetary sciences at Harvard University, a professor of environmental science and engineering in the School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, and director of the Harvard University-wide Center for Environment.

David E. Shaw, chief scientist of D.E. Shaw Research LLC and founder of D.E. Shaw & Company.

Harold Varmus (co-chair), president and chief executive of the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center.

Ahmed Zewail, a professor of chemistry and physics at the California Institute of Technology, and director of the Physical Biology Center. —David Shieh