Transitions People in Academe

August 13, 2012


Cass R. Sunstein is leaving the Obama administration this month to return to his previous post at Harvard University, as a professor of law, and to be director of the university's new program on behavioral economics and public policy. Since 2009, he has been administrator of the Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs in the White House Office of Management and Budget.

Neil D. Theobald, senior vice president and chief financial officer of Indiana University at Bloomington, was appointed as the next president of Temple University last week. He will take over from the acting president, Richard M. Englert, on January 1.

Cecilia Rouse, a professor of the economics of education at Princeton University, will become dean of the university's Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs on September 1.

Raghuram G. Rajan, a professor of finance at the University of Chicago's Booth School of Business and a former chief economist at the International Monetary Fund, is in the process of being appointed as chief economic adviser to India's government, The Times of India reported.

Scott McClellan, former White House press secretary under President George W. Bush, will become vice president for communications at Seattle University in September.

Kevin K. Washburn, dean of the University of New Mexico School of Law, has been nominated by President Obama to be the next assistant secretary of Indian affairs.


Charlie Nelms retired as chancellor of North Carolina Central University, effective last week.

C.B. Rathburn III has resigned as president and chief executive of Texas A&M University at Texarkana, after four years in the post. Keith McFarland, former president of Texas A&M's Commerce campus, will serve as acting president.

Benjamin J. Allen, president of the financially strapped University of Northern Iowa, will retire by July 1, 2013, the university has announced.

James M. Simmons has announced he will retire as president of Lamar University, in Texas, early next year, after leading the university for 14 years.

Submit ideas to or at