Transitions People in Academe

September 10, 2012


The University of California at Berkeley notes that it has attracted tenured professors from some of the East Coast's top business schools. Ross Levine, an author of Guardians of Finance: Making Regulators Work for Us, has left Brown University to be a professor of banking and finance and a member of the Economic Analysis and Policy Group at Berkeley's Haas School of Business. Toby E. Stuart, formerly of Harvard and a visiting professor at Berkeley the past two years, joined the school's Management of Organizations Group this summer as a professor of entrepreneurship and innovation. He is also faculty director of the school's Lester Center for Entrepreneurship. Gustavo Manso, who taught at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology's Sloan School of Management for five years, joined the Haas School's Finance Group as an associate professor in January.

Roger L. Jenkins, who has been dean of Miami University's Farmer School of Business for the past decade, said last month that he would retire in December. He also told the university last month that he had voluntarily agreed to return to a court-appointed receiver $1.25-million of the $1.75-million in consulting fees he had received from a Minnesota businessman and his companies from 2005 to 2008, the university said. The businessman, Tom Petters, was convicted in 2009 of defrauding investors through a $3.65-billion Ponzi scheme. In 2010 the university and its foundation returned $5-million in donations it had received from Mr. Petters from 2004 to 2006.

Alan G. Merten, who was president of George Mason University from 1996 until this past June, has been nominated to the Board of Directors of the for-profit higher-education provider DeVry Inc.


Ramin Parsey, a former professor of psychiatry at Columbia University and an expert in brain imaging, has been appointed professor and chair of the department of psychiatry and behavioral science at the State University of New York at Stony Brook's School of Medicine. He will also direct the university's positron-emission-tomography research.

Ka He, who was an associate professor of epidemiology and nutrition at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, has become the first chair of the new department of epidemiology and nutrition at Indiana University at Bloomington's School of Public Health.

James C. Carl, who was chair of the curriculum-and-foundations department at Cleveland State University, is the new dean of Sacred Heart University's Isabelle Farrington College of Education. He is the author of Freedom of Choice: Vouchers in American Education.

Thomas M. DiLorenzo, founding dean of the College of Arts and Sciences at the University of Alabama at Birmingham, has been appointed the university's associate vice president for innovation, commercialization, and entrepreneurship.


Neal K. Van Alfen, dean of the University of California at Davis's College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences since 1999, said last month that he would resign as soon as an interim dean was named. The college's executive associate dean, James D. MacDonald, has resigned as well. Mr. Van Alfen said in an e-mail that he felt compelled to resign after the university's chancellor, Linda P.B. Katehi, said she planned to replace him before the end of his term, which was set to last another two years. Mr. MacDonald informed Ms. Katehi and the provost in a resignation letter that he could not support their decision to end the dean's term early. Mr. Van Alfen will return to his faculty position as a professor of plant pathology, and Mr. MacDonald will retire.

The Rev. Jonathan DeFelice, who has been president of Saint Anselm College since 1989, said he would retire at the end of this academic year. He was founding chair of Campus Compact, a state and national effort to foster service learning.

Daniel D. Reneau, who has been president of Louisiana Tech University for more than 25 years, said he would retire next June.


Theodore S. (Ted) Rappaport, a professor at New York University and its Polytechnic Institute who does research on wireless-communication engineering, is this year's recipient of the William E. Sayle Award for Achievement in Education, from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Education Society.

Submit ideas to or at