Brigham Young U. and Goucher College Get New Chiefs; U. of Arizona Professor Joins Academy Governing Council

U. of Arizona

John G. Hildebrand
March 17, 2014

Job Moves

Barbara Gellman-Danley, president of the University of Rio Grande and Rio Grande Community College since 2009, will become president of the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools. In July she will succeed Sylvia Manning, who has led the commission since 2008.

Kevin J. Worthen, vice president for advancement at Brigham Young University, was named the university’s next president. In May he will succeed Cecil O. Samuelson, who has led the university since 2003.

David J. Skorton, president of Cornell University since 2006, was named to become secretary, or chief executive, of the Smithsonian Institution. His appointment at the Smithsonian, which includes 19 museums, nine research centers, and the National Zoo, is set to begin in July 2015. He will succeed G. Wayne Clough.

John G. Hildebrand, a professor of neuroscience at the University of Arizona, has been elected foreign secretary of the National Academy of Sciences. His four-year term on the institution’s governing council will begin in July.

José Antonio Bowen, dean of Southern Methodist University’s Meadows School of the Arts, will become president of Goucher College on July 1. He will succeed Sanford J. Ungar, who has led the college for 13 years.

In Memoriam

Joab L. Thomas, former chancellor of North Carolina State University and president emeritus of both the University of Alabama and Pennsylvania State University, died March 3 in Tuscaloosa, Ala. He was 81. He began his academic career as an assistant professor of biology at Alabama.

Barry B. Thompson, president emeritus of Tarleton State University and chancellor emeritus of the Texas A&M University system, died on March 1. He was 77. He retired as Texas A&M chancellor in 1999.