Drew U. and Wheaton College, in Massachusetts, Choose Presidents

Saint Mary’s College of California

Keith E. Brant
March 03, 2014


Valerie Landrio McDevitt, a patent lawyer who was associate vice president for technology and business incubation at the University of South Florida, will become executive director of the Association of University Technology Managers on March 24. She will replace Vicki L. Loise, who has led the association since 2005.

MaryAnn Baenninger, president of the College of Saint Benedict, will become president of Drew University on July 21. She replaces Vivian A. Bull, who became interim president after Robert Weisbuch stepped down in June 2012.

Judith C. Areen, a former dean of the Georgetown University Law Center and a professor of law, has been named executive director of the Association of American Law Schools, a position she has held on an interim basis since the fall of 2013, after Susan Westerberg Prager stepped down to lead Southwestern Law School.

Dennis Hanno, provost and senior vice president at Babson College, will become president of Wheaton College, in Massachusetts, on July 15. He will succeed Ronald A. Crutcher, who said last year that he planned to step down, after a decade in the post.

Keith E. Brant, who has been vice president for development at Saint Mary’s College of California since 2008, will become vice chancellor for university relations at the University of California at Santa Cruz on April 8. He will oversee areas that include fund raising, alumni relations, communications, and government relations.

Vivek Goel, chief executive of Public Health Ontario and a professor of public health and a former provost of the University of Toronto, has been appointed chief academic strategist at Coursera, which offers a platform for massive online open courses, or MOOCs.

Wendell E. Pritchett, who will step down as chancellor of Rutgers University at Camden in June, will become a professor at the University of Pennsylvania Law School on July 1. He taught at the law school previously, from 2001 to 2009, before taking the leadership post at Camden.

Thomas P. Bonner, vice president for advancement at Macalester College, will become vice president for external relations at Carleton College in early April.


Johnny Moore, who had been president of Philander Smith College since July 2012, has resigned. Lloyd E. Hervey, an assistant professor of education, has stepped in as interim president.

James L. Llorens, chancellor of Southern University at Baton Rouge since 2011, is expected to step down in June. His contract was not renewed.