Michael Ignatieff Returns to Harvard Full Time; Pace U. Names Chief Information Officer

Betsy Brockett

Clare van den Blink
June 30, 2014


Michael Ignatieff, a former leader of Canada’s Liberal Party, will become a professor of press, politics, and public policy at Harvard University’s John F. Kennedy School of Government. He leaves a half-time post at the University of Toronto to go from half to full time at Harvard.

Clare van den Blink, who was director of academic technologies at Cornell University, will become vice president for information technology and chief information officer of Pace University on August 18.

Jhumpa Lahiri, who won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction in 2000 for her short-story collection Interpreter of Maladies, will become a professor of creative writing at Princeton University in September 2015.

Cristina Della Coletta, a professor of Italian and an associate dean at the University of Virginia, will become dean of the Division of Arts and Humanities at the University of California at San Diego on August 15.


Rush Miller will retire as director of the university library system and as Hillman university librarian at the University of Pittsburgh on December 31. He has been in the post for 20 years.

Mark L. Greenberg will step down as provost and senior vice president for academic affairs at Drexel University in mid-September.

Michael M. Martin will step down as dean of Fordham University’s School of Law and return to the law faculty at the end of the 2014-15 academic year.


Two Johns Hopkins University brain scientists have died of cancer. Steven Yantis, who did research on the neural mechanisms involved in switching attention between tasks, died on June 20 at age 58. Steven S. Hsiao, an expert on how the brain processes the sense of touch, died on June 16 at age 59.

Jerilyn A. Logemann, a Northwestern University professor of communication sciences and disorders, otolaryngology, and neurology who joined the university’s faculty in 1978, died on June 19. She was 72. She made extensive contributions to the treatment of swallowing disorders, including the development of a diagnostic tool.