George Mason U. and Fresno State Name New Provosts

Lehigh U.

S. David Wu
March 24, 2014


Geoffrey Garrett, dean and professor of business in the Australian School of Business at the University of New South Wales, will become dean of the Wharton School at the University of Pennsylvania on July 1. He is a former faculty member in Wharton’s management department. He will succeed Thomas S. Robertson, who said last year that he will step down in June, at the end of his seven-year term.

Eduardo M. Peñalver, a professor of law at the University of Chicago Law School, will become dean of Cornell University’s Law School on July 1. He taught at Cornell’s Law School from 2006 to 2012. Mr. Peñalver will succeed Stewart J. Schwab, dean since 2004, who will return to teaching at the Law School.

S. David Wu, dean of the P.C. Rossin College of Engineering and Applied Science at Lehigh University, will become provost and executive vice president of George Mason University. Mr. Wu will succeed Peter N. Stearns, who has been provost since 2000.

Lynnette Zelezny, associate provost at California State University at Fresno, will become the university’s provost and vice president for academic affairs on June 1. The post had been held by William A. Covino, who became president of California State University at Los Angeles in September.

Kevin Cieply, associate dean of academics and associate professor at John Marshall Law School, in Atlanta, will become president and dean of Ave Maria School of Law on July 1. He will succeed Eugene R. Milhizer, who has said he would step down to return to teaching.

Nancy Staudt, vice dean for faculty and academic affairs at the University of Southern California Gould School of Law, has been named dean of Washington University in St. Louis’s School of Law. She will start on May 15. She will also become a professor of law, a role she already held at the School of Law from 2000-6, and a professor at the George Warren Brown School of Social Work.


Eugene R. Tempel, founding dean of the Indiana University Lilly Family School of Philanthropy, will move from that role to a faculty position on December 31, 2014, when he will have finished served his planned two-year term.

Elizabeth D. Phillips resigned as executive director of UF Online, the University of Florida’s new program to offer bachelor’s degrees online, after less than three months on the job. Ms. Phillips, who had left her position as provost and executive vice president of Arizona State University last year, has returned to the faculty there.

David E. Wright is stepping down as director of the Office of Research Integrity in the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services this month, after complaining about a "dysfunctional" federal bureaucracy, ScienceInsider reported. The office monitors investigations into misconduct by researchers who receive funds from the National Institutes of Health and other Public Health Service agencies. He is a professor emeritus at Michigan State University, where he was a historian of science.