U. of Arizona and Wayne State U. Name New Vice Presidents for Research

U. of Arizona

Kimberly Andrews Espy
April 28, 2014


Jane K. Fernandes, provost at the University of North Carolina at Asheville, will become president of Guilford College on July 1. She will succeed Kent Chabotar, who is retiring.

Kimberly Andrews Espy, vice president for research and innovation and dean of the Graduate School at the University of Oregon, will become senior vice president for research at the University of Arizona on May 27.

Jonathan Zittrain, vice dean of library and information resources at Harvard Law School, will become chair of the Board of Directors of the Berkman Center for Internet & Society on July 1. He will replace William (Terry) Fisher, who is stepping down from the role after 12 years.

Jacquelyn S. Fetrow, dean of Wake Forest College and a professor of computational biophysics at Wake Forest University, will become provost and vice president for academic affairs at the University of Richmond. She will succeed Steve Allred.


Morris Keeton, founding president of the Council for Adult and Experiential Learning, died in Greensboro, N.C., on April 9. He was 97. Mr. Keeton was a longtime faculty member at Antioch College and also served as its chief academic officer. He played many other academic roles, including chair of the American Council on Education’s Commission on Higher Education and the Adult Learner.

L. Jay Oliva, New York University’s president from 1991 to 2002, died on April 17. He was 80. A Russian-studies scholar, he began teaching at NYU in 1960 and held several leadership roles there before becoming president.