2 Scholars Are Chosen as Winners of the Bancroft Prize

Columbia University has named two scholars as winners of the Bancroft Prize for 2013. They are:

  • W. Jeffrey Bolster, an associate professor of history at the University of New Hampshire, for The Mortal Sea: Fishing the Atlantic in the Age of Sail (Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 2012). The awards announcement describes Mr. Bolster’s book as “a gripping and eloquent history of the human impact on the ocean.”
  • John Fabian Witt, a law professor at Yale University, for Lincoln’s Code: The Laws of War in American History (Free Press, 2012). The announcement describes Mr. Witt’s book as a “persuasively argued history of the idea that conflict among nations can be regulated by law.”

Awarded annually by the trustees of Columbia University, the Bancroft Prize honors the authors of new books on American history and diplomacy. The prize carries an award of $10,000 to each author.

Return to Top