20 Colleges Are Picked for Effort on Competency-Based Education

The Competency-Based Education Network, an effort financed by the Lumina Foundation that is seeking to provide leadership on the development of competency-based degree programs, on Wednesday announced an initial group of participating institutions that includes 18 colleges and two higher-education systems.

The participants in the effort, which is being coordinated by the nonprofit research group Public Agenda, include some of the pioneering colleges in the area of competency-based education. The 18 colleges are Antioch University, Argosy University, Brandman University, Broward College, Capella University, Charter Oak State College, City University of Seattle, DePaul University, Excelsior College, Lipscomb University, Northern Arizona University, Salt Lake Community College, Southern New Hampshire University, South Texas College, Texas A&M University at Commerce, the University of Maine at Presque Isle, the University of Maryland University College, and Westminster College. The two system participants are the Kentucky Community and Technical College System and the University of Wisconsin-Extension.

Return to Top