4 Scholars Win Crafoord Prizes in Astronomy and Math

The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has chosen four high-profile scholars working at American institutions to receive the 2012 Crafoord Prizes for astronomy and mathematics. Each professor will receive about $590,000.

Sharing the astronomy prize are Reinhard Genzel, a professor of physics at the University of California at Berkeley who is also scientific director of the Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics, in Germany, and Andrea Ghez, a professor of astronomy at the University of California at Los Angeles. Sharing the prize in mathematics are Jean Bourgain, a professor of mathematics at the Institute for Advanced Study, in Princeton, N.J., and Terence Tao, a professor of mathematics at UCLA. Among other previous honors, Ms. Ghez and Mr. Tao are former MacArthur fellows, while Mr. Bourgain and Mr. Genzel have both won the Shaw Prize.

Return to Top