5 Scientists Are Among Winners of 2013 Lasker Awards

Five scientists were among a group of seven individuals named on Monday as the 2013 winners of the Lasker Awards, which recognize achievements in medical research and public health. The honors carry awards of $250,000, and many past recipients have gone on to win Nobel Prizes.

This year’s winners include Thomas C. Südhof, of Stanford University’s School of Medicine, and Richard H. Scheller, of the biotechnology company Genentech, who were honored in the category of basic medical research for discoveries about how brain cells communicate. Graeme M. Clark, an emeritus professor at the University of Melbourne, in Australia; Blake S. Wilson, of Duke University; and Ingeborg Hochmair, of the Austrian medical-device company Med-El, were honored in the clinical-research category for their work on the development of the modern cochlear implant.

The other two winners are the philanthropists Bill and Melinda Gates, who received a public-service award recognizing their support of efforts to improve global health.

Return to Top