U.S. Picks 7 Colleges to Participate in Crisis-Preparedness Project

The secretary of homeland security, Janet Napolitano, announced on Tuesday that seven colleges would participate in the Campus Resilience Pilot Program, a new effort that seeks to help colleges craft and share best practices for responding to emergencies such as campus violence and natural disasters. She made the announcement in Philadelphia at Drexel University, which is among the institutions chosen to participate.

The other six schools are Eastern Connecticut State University; Green River Community College in Auburn, Wash.; Navajo Technical College in Crownpoint, N.M.; Texas A&M University; Tougaloo College in Jackson, Miss.; and the University of San Francisco.
The initiative will entail school administrators, students and community members working with homeland security and emergency management officials to assess campus safety, develop crisis plans and train responders. The strategies will be shared with colleges across the country.

Read more at:

Return to Top