Tracking the 2012 Nobel Prize Winners

Keep track of the 2012 Nobel Prize winners here as they are announced.

Economic Sciences: Alvin E. Roth of Harvard University and Lloyd S. Shapley of the University of California at Los Angeles, “for the theory of stable allocations and the practice of market design.”

Peace: The European Union, “for over six decades contributed to the advancement of peace and reconciliation, democracy and human rights in Europe.”

Literature: Mo Yan, a Chinese writer. The Swedish Academy hailed his use of “hallucinatory realism,” which “merges folk tales, history and the contemporary.”

Chemistry: Robert J. Lefkowitz of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute and Duke University Medical Center, and Brian K. Kobilka of the Stanford University School of Medicine. They were honored for their discoveries of “smart receptors” on cell surfaces.

Physics: Serge Haroche of the Collège de France and Ecole Normale Supérieure, in Paris, France, and David J. Wineland of the National Institute of Standards and Technology and the University of Colorado at Boulder. They were honored for inventing new ways to measure and control fragile quantum states that were previously thought inaccessible for direct observation.

Physiology or Medicine: John B. Gurdon of the University of Cambridge and Shinya Yamanaka of Kyoto University, for their research on the process by which mature adult cells can become stem cells.

Return to Top