White House Announces Winners of National Science and Technology Medals

President Obama on Friday named a dozen researchers and 11 inventors as winners of this year’s National Medal of Science and National Medal of Technology and Innovation, the country’s highest honors for scientists, inventors, and engineers. The recipients will receive their awards at a White House ceremony early next year.

Among this year’s winners are two researchers at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology: Sallie W. Chisholm, a biological oceanographer who received a National Medal of Science, and Robert S. Langer, a biomedical engineer who received a National Medal of Technology and Innovation.

The science medal honors researchers for making contributions to science and engineering. This year’s other winners, as announced by the White House, are as follows:

Allen J. Bard, director of the center for electrochemistry at the University of Texas at Austin.

Sidney D. Drell, a professor emeritus at Stanford University’s SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory.

Sandra M. Faber, a professor of astronomy and astrophysics at the University of California at Santa Cruz.

S. James Gates, a professor of physics at the University of Maryland at College Park.

Solomon W. Golomb, a professor of electrical engineering and mathematics at the University of Southern California.

John B. Goodenough, a professor of engineering at the University of Texas at Austin.

M. Frederick Hawthorne, director of the institute of nano and molecular medicine at the University of Missouri at Columbia.

Leroy Hood, president of the Institute for Systems Biology in Seattle.

Barry C. Mazur, a professor of mathematics at Harvard University.

Lucy Shapiro, a professor of developmental biology at Stanford University’s School of Medicine.

Anne M. Treisman, a professor of psychology at Princeton University.

The National Medal of Technology and Innovation recognizes those who have helped to improve the United States’ economic competitiveness and the country’s technological work force. The other individuals honored this year are:

Frances H. Arnold, a professor of chemical engineering, bioengineering, and biochemistry at the California Institute of Technology.

George R. Carruthers of the U.S. Naval Research Lab, in Washington, D.C.

Norman R. McCombs of the AirSep Corporation, in Buffalo, N.Y.

Gholam A. Peyman of Arizona Retinal Specialists, in Sun City West, Ariz.

Arthur H. Rosenfeld of the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, in Berkeley, Calif.

Jan T. Vilcek, a professor of microbiology at New York University’s Langone Medical Center.

A team of three researchers at the IBM Corporation was also honored, as well as Raytheon BBN Technologies, a company based in Massachusetts.

Return to Top