• March 27, 2017

Chronicle Forums

March 27, 2017, 8:28:30 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please Log In to participate in forums.
News: Talk about how to cope with chronic illness, disability, and other health issues in the academic workplace.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 10
 on: Today at 08:20:48 pm 
Started by archman - Last post by secundem_artem
Apparently United Airlines does not want to see your tushy either

https://www.nytimes.com/2017/03/27/business/united-leggings-passes-dress-code.html

on: Today at 08:15:07 pm 
Started by cmeagher7 - Last post by puget
When I was an undergrad, psych majors had to take intro, developmental, abnormal, research methods, and statistics.  Since then, I think they've added history/systems and some sort of cognitive/neuro psych.

Seems to me the APA had a required core, but maybe that was only for grad students. 

APA has power only over clinical psych PhD programs, which they accredit. Maybe not even that much longer-- there is now an alternative Clinical Science (emphasis on the science) accreditation which the top programs are quickly acquiring. For now everyone must still knuckle under to APA because of internship and licensing requirements, but as soon as internship sites and licensing boards start accepting CS as an alternative a lot of these programs will almost surely drop the APA accreditation, which the see as burdensome and out of date.

History/systems has disappeared from many departments (I think it is still technically in our course catalog, but no one has taught it for years and we have no plans to offer it again). The "systems" are all antiquated relics of the grand theory phase of the field before it became a real science, and history of psych would be interesting as an intellectual history course in the history department but doesn't have much relevance to the current state of knowledge and practice in a quickly changing field.

on: Today at 08:09:36 pm 
Started by archman - Last post by kaysixteen