• December 11, 2016

Chronicle Forums

December 11, 2016, 5:55:49 am *
Welcome, Guest. Please Log In to participate in forums.
News: Talk online about your experiences as an adjunct, visiting assistant professor, postdoc, or other contract faculty member.

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 10
 on: Today at 05:54:54 am 
Started by paul_robeson - Last post by leobloom
I wouldn't; in fact, I used to post my old exams on my website and show them to students. (I do projects rather than exams now, so it doesn't apply anymore.) I find the whole state-secrets level of security around old exams kind of ridiculous. Way back when I was a student there were rumours that certain ethnic groups of students had an internal network for distributing old exams; I have no idea whether it was true or not.

When I was studying in Far Away Land, some central part of the university admin was responsible for administering all finals.  One consequence of this was the library had copies of the past five years of exams for almost all courses.  Psychology 101 and probably a handful of other classes had a printed page where their exams should have been saying something like "Ha ha ha tough sh!t." 

Didn't catch that. Care to explain?

on: Today at 04:33:29 am 
Started by cmeagher7 - Last post by protoplasm
I guess I'll just ask: is it emotionally satisfying for you to have Trump in office? It can't possibly be ideologically satisfying, since there isn't much ideology beyond a kleptocratic all-in cash-grab gold rush on the White House that's not going to benefit you, me, or anyone outside the nepotistic Trump-connected circuit; they're not even pretending otherwise. I get that it's fun to troll lefty academics, but are you actually enthused about this guy running the country? I'm genuinely curious.
As someone whose hometown was ravaged by the Mexican drug cartels, if he makes good on his promise to build the wall, it'll benefit me and a lot of my family.