• March 28, 2017
March 28, 2017, 7:34:28 pm *
Welcome, Guest. Please Log In to participate in forums.
News: Talk online about your experiences as an adjunct, visiting assistant professor, postdoc, or other contract faculty member.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: clinical major depression and academic life  (Read 5938 times)
deadchildstar

« on: November 29, 2011, 11:42:00 am »

I'm wondering if the Chronicle has ever done a column, series or feature on major depression. I've tried searching the site, but didn't find much dedicated to this topic. I can't imagine that's because it's not relevant.

Speaking strictly personally for a moment, I am a new PhD student presently suffering from clinical major depression - that is, not your average "grad school fosters depression" bouts of self-doubt, blues or burn-out. I finished my Masters several years ago, then worked before applying to a PhD - including doing University lecturing/teaching as well as administrative non-academic work.

In between, however, a number of very difficult life-events intervened, leaving me with a serious, clinical case of major depression involving crippling self-doubt, bad habits, crying jags, suicidal thoughts, irrational negative thinking patterns, you name it. While I have been in therapy, and am on medication, those things only help control depression. And while I am hopeful, in my better moments, that I am "getting better" as far as a bigger picture goes, it doesn't make any of this go away, and certainly not fast.