PicoFeed The Chronicle of Higher Education | Advice Columns http://www.chronicle.com/section/Advice-Columns/144/ 2017-10-18T18:12:55-04:00 The Chronicle of Higher Education The Stress of Academic Publishing https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1900-the-stress-of-academic-publishing 2017-09-13T13:46:00-04:00 The waiting is, indeed, the hardest part, but some academics cope with it better than others. Michael D. Dooley and Kate Sweeny The Job Market: Where Should You Apply? https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1899-the-job-market-where-should-you-apply 2017-09-12T14:53:00-04:00 Even in a weak academic job market, you should carefully consider where you want to work and what sort of job you actually want. Manya Whitaker The Forgotten Value of a Literature Course https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1896-the-forgotten-value-of-a-literature-course 2017-09-07T10:24:00-04:00 English professors have had to do a lot of hard thinking about why students should take our courses — something we once took for granted. By Rob Jenkins Teaching From the Passenger Seat https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1895-teaching-from-the-passenger-seat 2017-09-06T10:07:00-04:00 Run a good discussion section, and you can remedy many of the shortcomings of the lecture format. By David Gooblar The Professor Is In: Relevant Resistance in the Classroom https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1894-the-professor-is-in-relevant-resistance-in-the-classroom 2017-09-05T10:14:00-04:00 In the “post-fact” timeline in which we find ourselves, our very function as educators becomes to resist it. By Karen Kelsky Are They Doing Their Own Work? https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1892-are-they-doing-their-own-work 2017-08-30T10:25:00-04:00 Some institutions are requiring professors to do more to confirm their students’ identities in online coursework. By Stephanie Reese Masson Project Planning in an Uncertain World https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1890-project-planning-in-an-uncertain-world 2017-08-29T10:19:00-04:00 How to use “dependency analysis” to foresee potential problems and delays. By Melanie Nelson Endless Summer https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1889-endless-summer 2017-08-28T10:13:00-04:00 The (unpaid) dog days of August in grad school. By Rebecca Schuman Reeling Them in Early https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1886-reeling-them-in-early 2017-08-23T10:24:00-04:00 Getting students invested in your course is the most important objective to aim for in the opening weeks of the semester. By David Gooblar Job-Market Diaries: A Religious Studies Professor https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1885-job-market-diaries-a-religious-studies-professor 2017-08-22T10:07:00-04:00 Part 6 in a series featuring new faculty members talking about their job search. By Mark Tonelli The Professor Is In: Is It Too Soon to Talk to Publishers? https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1883-the-professor-is-in-is-it-too-soon-to-talk-to-publishers 2017-08-21T10:23:00-04:00 When should doctoral students start approaching a book editor about their dissertations? By Karen Kelsky The Benefits of Time Away https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1881-the-benefits-of-time-away 2017-08-17T14:17:00-04:00 To be a better teacher and scholar: Leave your office. Explore. Engage. David Wildermuth ‘Don’t Take Our Failures Personally’ https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1880-don-t-take-our-failures-personally 2017-08-16T09:38:00-04:00 And other advice for professors from developmental-writing students. By Nicole Matos Why We Need Ph.D. Career Fairs https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1879-why-we-need-ph-d-career-fairs 2017-08-15T09:54:00-04:00 Graduate schools can’t afford to wait for employers to come to us. By Leonard Cassuto ‘This Isn’t the Life I Imagined’ https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1878-this-isn-t-the-life-i-imagined 2017-08-14T10:13:00-04:00 Hungry for a sense of belonging and impact? You may be better off building a better life than finding a better job. By Allison M. Vaillancourt Now Is the Time to Think About Accessibility https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1875-now-is-the-time-to-think-about-accessibility 2017-08-09T09:43:00-04:00 Treating the needs of disabled students as an afterthought can make them feel unwelcome and, worse, can erect further barriers to their learning. By David Gooblar How to Create and Keep a Useful Network https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1873-how-to-create-and-keep-a-useful-network 2017-08-08T11:31:00-04:00 Fall means it’s time to maintain — and prune — your professional contacts. By Manya Whitaker The Professor Is In: The Career-Math of Publishing https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1874-the-professor-is-in-the-career-math-of-publishing 2017-08-08T10:50:00-04:00 Is it better to have a weak publication on your CV, or no publication at all? By Karen Kelsky Still Screaming, but Not Over Nothing https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1871-still-screaming-but-not-over-nothing 2017-08-03T10:21:00-04:00 Higher education fails to help victims cope with the predictable mental-health aftermath of sexual assault. By Katie Rose Guest Pryal ‘It’s the Cover Letter, Stupid’ https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1870-it-s-the-cover-letter-stupid 2017-08-02T10:14:00-04:00 Your objective is to get an interview. So make sure your letter isn’t just informational, but persuasive. By Rob Jenkins