PicoFeed The Chronicle of Higher Education | Advice http://www.chronicle.com/section/Advice/66/ 2017-02-20T12:58:22-05:00 The Chronicle of Higher Education Writing Through Our Political Tailspin https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1704-writing-through-our-political-tailspin 2017-02-16T09:11:00-05:00 Spending too much time reading (and ranting) about the latest Trump outrage? Here’s how to get your work back on track. By Theresa MacPhail You Will Be Assessed and Found Mediocre http://www.chronicle.com/article/You-Will-Be-AssessedFound/239158 2017-02-15T19:00:00-05:00 How to cope with the endless urge to evaluate every aspect of faculty work. By Ms. Mentor Same Lesson, Different Semester https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1705-same-lesson-different-semester 2017-02-15T10:28:00-05:00 Class prep gets easier and easier the more you teach a particular course. But is that always a good thing? By David Gooblar On Leaving: Always Be Able to Walk Away https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1701-on-leaving-always-be-able-to-walk-away 2017-02-14T10:27:00-05:00 When the time comes to quit a nonacademic job, can you leave on your own terms? By Melanie Nelson Is It Really Time to Teach '1984'? http://www.chronicle.com/article/Is-It-Really-Time-to-Teach/239157 2017-02-13T19:00:00-05:00 Proceed carefully before encouraging students to jump in. By David Andrew Stoler On Leaving: Exiting on Good Terms https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1700-on-leaving-exiting-on-good-terms 2017-02-13T10:37:00-05:00 They never appreciated you and now you’re moving on. It’s oh so tempting to set them straight. By Allison M. Vaillancourt Obsessed With Smartness http://www.chronicle.com/article/Obsessed-With-Smartness/239156 2017-02-12T19:00:00-05:00 Why does academic culture value the students we admit more highly than the ones we graduate? By James M. Lang Ms. Mentor Muses About Academic Meetings http://www.chronicle.com/article/Ms-Mentor-Muses-About/239166 2017-02-12T18:31:30-05:00 The academic-advice columnist has often cast her skeptical eye on the academic committee; here are some of her pointed observations. The Vitae Bookshelf: Peggy Delmas https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1689-the-vitae-bookshelf-peggy-delmas 2017-02-10T13:01:00-05:00 My five favorite books on gender, leadership, and academe. No One Is Reading Those Reference Letters https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1693-no-one-is-reading-those-reference-letters 2017-02-09T10:22:00-05:00 Not in the initial cull, anyway. So why does academia keep pointlessly requiring them for job applications? By Andrew Thaler Leaving the Adjunct Track http://www.chronicle.com/article/Leaving-the-Adjunct-Track/239137 2017-02-08T19:00:00-05:00 No hard feelings, but I don’t miss academe, and I probably won’t be back. By Jill Carroll Thriving in a Small Department https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1697-thriving-in-a-small-department 2017-02-08T12:16:00-05:00 You have to figure out the “family” dynamics before you can carve out your place. By Manya Whitaker How to Ace the Screening Interview https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1694-how-to-ace-the-screening-interview 2017-02-08T09:47:00-05:00 You have only 15 to 30 minutes to convince a company that you should be asked back for a second-round interview. By Fatimah Williams Castro Collegiality and Disability https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1695-collegiality-and-disability 2017-02-07T10:24:00-05:00 Accessibility is not a zero-sum game. By Katie Rose Guest Pryal Designing a Lab in the Humanities http://www.chronicle.com/article/Designing-a-Lab-in-the/239132 2017-02-06T19:00:00-05:00 What our disciplines are missing for students is the fun factor. By Fritz Breithaupt How to Toe the Line https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1684-how-to-toe-the-line 2017-02-06T10:31:00-05:00 Struggling to adjust after leaving academe? The way forward may lie in simply listening to your own intuition. By Ariel Sophia Bardi Scholars Talk Writing: Advice From an Editor http://www.chronicle.com/article/Scholars-Talk-Writing-Advice/239076 2017-02-05T19:00:00-05:00 Teaching encourages oratorical habits that can sometimes be deadly in a trade book. By Rachel Toor What Is Critical Thinking, Anyway? https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1691-what-is-critical-thinking-anyway 2017-02-02T11:44:00-05:00 A longtime faculty member shares the talk he gives to his own students on the first day of the semester. By Rob Jenkins The Art of the Campus Interview http://www.chronicle.com/article/The-Art-of-the-Campus/239059 2017-02-02T04:55:00-05:00 It’s not a good sign when the search committee is more interested in snapping food pics than in chatting with you. By Mark W. Pleiss What Trump Could Learn From My First-Year Rhetoric Course https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1690-what-trump-could-learn-from-my-first-year-rhetoric-course 2017-02-01T14:10:00-05:00 It’s not just the president and his administration who would benefit. We all would. By David Gooblar