PicoFeed The Chronicle of Higher Education | Advice http://www.chronicle.com/section/Advice/66/ 2016-09-26T08:19:01-04:00 The Chronicle of Higher Education 'Dear Forums ...': Too Many Students Want to Talk to Me After Class. Help! https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1556-dear-forums-to-many-students-want-to-talk-to-me-after-class-help/ 2016-09-23T10:17:00-04:00 Also in our weekly roundup of the best conversations from The Chronicle's discussion forums: a grant-money question; how to list publications on your CV; and overcoming the strategic-plan blues.   The Mentoring Buck Stops Here https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1552-the-mentoring-buck-stops-here 2016-09-22T08:06:00-04:00 Just because you’re “accessible” and “approachable” doesn’t mean you’re a good mentor. By Terry McGlynn The Dangers of Faculty Book Club http://www.chronicle.com/article/The-Dangers-of-Faculty-Book/237863 2016-09-22T04:55:00-04:00 Warning: Reading books with your colleagues can make you mad. By Ms. Mentor Skills First, and Let Content Follow https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1551-skills-first-and-let-content-follow 2016-09-21T08:29:00-04:00 You’re not choosing skills at the expense of content; it isn’t one or the other. Why ‘Alternative’ Careers in STEM Aren’t ‘Alternative’ https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1549-why-alternative-careers-in-stem-aren-t-alternative 2016-09-20T09:57:00-04:00 And why academic science needs to stop pretending they are. By Maryam Zaringhalam Academic Ethics: What Should We Do With Sexual Harassers in Academe? http://www.chronicle.com/article/Academic-Ethics-What-Should/237821 2016-09-19T19:00:00-04:00 Should they be barred permanently from teaching? By Brian Leiter Why Are We Ambivalent About Ambition? https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1548-why-are-we-ambivalent-about-ambition 2016-09-19T08:05:00-04:00 Well, it’s OK to be courted for a leadership role in academe, but don’t let anyone see you actually pursue one. By Allison M. Vaillancourt Confessions of a 'Formerly Young' Professor http://www.chronicle.com/article/Confessions-of-a-Formerly/237810 2016-09-18T19:00:00-04:00 We need to talk more as a profession about pedagogy and aging. By Paige Reynolds 'Dear Forums ...': My Student Won't Leave Me Alone. Help! https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1547-dear-forums-my-student-won-t-leave-me-alone-help 2016-09-16T10:10:00-04:00 Also in our weekly roundup of the best conversations from The Chronicle's discussion forums: thoughts on switching departments, right-of-first-refusal clauses, embargoed dissertations, and veering off on tangents in class. DIY Syllabus: What Is a Syllabus Really For, Anyway? https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1545-diy-syllabus-what-is-a-syllabus-really-for-anyway 2016-09-15T11:25:00-04:00 Part 1 of a new series on how to build a syllabus looks at why it’s like a monster that keeps getting bigger. By Kevin Gannon Why I Hate the New 'MLA Handbook' http://www.chronicle.com/article/Why-I-Hate-the-New-MLA/237761 2016-09-14T19:00:00-04:00 The just-published eighth edition is a disservice to students and a potential disaster for scholars. By Dallas Liddle Working on Someone Else’s Clock https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1544-working-on-someone-else-s-clock 2016-09-14T09:41:00-04:00 Learning to set a normal work week can be a challenge for Ph.D.s who move into administration. By Jessica Ehinger Community-College FAQ: The Application https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1540-community-college-faq-the-application 2016-09-13T10:51:00-04:00 "The job ad calls for only a CV and a cover letter. Should I include more?" By Rob Jenkins Should I Apply Again? https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1528-should-i-apply-again 2016-09-13T10:36:00-04:00 It turns out some academics do ask questions that can be resolved with short answers. By Karen Kelsky Duly Keynoted http://www.chronicle.com/article/Duly-Keynoted/237759 2016-09-12T19:00:00-04:00 Why is the keynote speech such a train wreck at most academic conferences? By Devoney Looser Tenure-Track Wisdom: Nick Nelson https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1537-tenure-track-wisdom-nick-nelson 2016-09-12T10:01:00-04:00 “I wish I had known how much fun I was going to have,” says a new assistant professor about his first year on the job. By Dan Royles No, Banning Laptops Is Not the Answer http://www.chronicle.com/article/No-Banning-Laptops-Is-Not-the/237752 2016-09-11T19:00:00-04:00 And it’s just as pointless to condemn any ban on electronic devices in the classroom. By James M. Lang 'Dear Forums ...': I'm Applying for a Job in the Department in Which I Work. Any Advice? https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1539-dear-forums-i-m-applying-for-a-job-in-the-department-in-which-i-work-any-advice 2016-09-09T10:19:00-04:00 Also in our weekly roundup of the best conversations from The Chronicle's discussion forums: how to handle a bad review; why some ads ask for undergraduate transcripts. Nobody Cares About Your .Edu Anymore https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1535-nobody-cares-about-your-edu-anymore 2016-09-08T10:37:00-04:00 Which is why you as a faculty member should consider using a private email account more often. By Jonathan Rees Death by Retreat http://www.chronicle.com/article/Death-by-Retreat/237702 2016-09-07T19:01:00-04:00 Three tactics you should definitely not pursue in organizing a staff retreat. By Rob Kramer