PicoFeed The Chronicle of Higher Education | Advice http://www.chronicle.com/section/Advice/66/ 2016-08-27T06:04:02-04:00 The Chronicle of Higher Education 'Dear Forums ...': Should I List Job Talks on My CV? https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1524-dear-forums-should-i-list-job-talks-on-my-cv 2016-08-26T11:44:00-04:00 Also in our weekly roundup of the best conversations from The Chronicle's discussion forums: first-day-of-class rituals, and vanishing job ads. Why Am I Teaching Again? https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1522-why-am-i-teaching-again 2016-08-25T10:36:00-04:00 Two years after leaving academe, a former adjunct rediscovers her love for the classroom. By Katie Rose Guest Pryal A Classic Job-Search Guide Turns 25 http://www.chronicle.com/article/A-Classic-Job-Search-Guide/237554 2016-08-24T19:00:00-04:00 Newly republished in its fifth edition, a classic job-search handbook is still guiding Ph.D.s on the market. By Julie Miller Vick, Jennifer S. Furlong, and Rosanne Lurie Why Cold-Calling on Students Works https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1520-why-cold-calling-on-students-works 2016-08-24T10:22:00-04:00 It’s doesn’t have to be an antagonistic demand to prove themselves; it can be a warm invitation to contribute. By David Gooblar On Awkward PowerPoints and Wobbly Podiums https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1519-on-awkward-powerpoints-and-wobbly-podiums 2016-08-23T10:25:00-04:00 When to ask for help and when to make the best of it. By Karen Kelsky It’s Time to Ditch Our Deadlines http://www.chronicle.com/article/It-s-Time-to-Ditch-Our/237530 2016-08-22T19:00:00-04:00 Why you should stop penalizing your students for submitting work late. By Ellen Boucher Dear Adviser: You Were My Favorite Mistake https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1518-dear-adviser-you-were-my-favorite-mistake 2016-08-22T08:45:00-04:00 In choosing my committee chair, I made the best worst decision of my academic career. By Rebecca Schuman Is It OK to Teach Grown-Ups? http://www.chronicle.com/article/Is-It-OK-to-Teach-Grown-Ups-/237501 2016-08-21T19:00:00-04:00 A youngish professor wonders if teaching ‘adult enrichment’ courses will damage her prospects. By Ms. Mentor 'Dear Forums ...': Is It Weird to Ask a Mentor Who Was Denied Tenure to Be a Reference? https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1516-dear-forums-is-it-weird-to-ask-a-mentor-who-was-denied-tenure-to-be-a-reference 2016-08-19T10:54:00-04:00 Also in our weekly roundup of the best conversations from The Chronicle's discussion forums: tips on writing review articles. Learning to Write All Over Again https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1515-learning-to-write-all-over-again 2016-08-18T10:19:00-04:00 Turns out writing is not like riding a bike. You do forget how to do it. By Anne Trubek ‘Does This Have to Go Through the IRB?’ http://www.chronicle.com/article/Does-This-Have-to-Go/237476 2016-08-17T19:00:00-04:00 Social-science researchers don’t need to be nearly as afraid of the review process as they usually are. By Patricia Aufderheide Managing a Dissertation and a Classroom https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1514-managing-a-dissertation-and-a-classroom 2016-08-17T10:12:00-04:00 Seven strategies to help you finish the diss without sacrificing the needs of your students.     By Daveena Tauber Advice for New Administrators https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1513-advice-for-new-administrators 2016-08-16T10:15:00-04:00 Don’t be afraid to admit when you’re wrong, and other lessons for newcomers to administration. By Elizabeth A. Lehfeldt College as ‘Practice for Life’ http://www.chronicle.com/article/College-as-Practice-for/237464 2016-08-15T19:00:00-04:00 A lot of the learning that takes place for undergraduates — perhaps most of it — happens outside the classroom. By James M. Lang Career Lingo: “Strong” https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1512-career-lingo-strong 2016-08-15T10:25:00-04:00 It’s a simple-enough descriptor but, like any other word in a job ad, it can mean different things. By David D. Perlmutter The Changing Face of Scientific Collaboration http://www.chronicle.com/article/The-Changing-Face-of/237451 2016-08-14T18:00:00-04:00 A spirit of collective enterprise in scientific research is being replaced by a rush to assign precise credit for who did what. By Leonard Cassuto 'Dear Forums ...': I'm on a 9-Month Contract. How Can I Stem the Tide of Summer-Meeting Invites? https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1511-dear-forums-i-m-on-a-9-month-contract-how-can-i-stem-the-tide-of-summer-meeting-invites 2016-08-12T11:06:00-04:00 Also in our weekly roundup of the best conversations from The Chronicle's discussion forums: Twitter tips for newbies; dealing with annoying auditors; teaching at multiple institutions. The Unintended Consequences of Seeking Tenure https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1500-the-unintended-consequences-of-seeking-tenure 2016-08-11T10:31:00-04:00 What we can do to protect and promote the sharing of diverse perspectives. By Melanie Hingle Adjusting to Civilian Life http://www.chronicle.com/article/Adjusting-to-Civilian-Life/237417 2016-08-10T19:00:00-04:00 Just because people keep asking about your plans for retirement doesn’t mean you actually have to have one. By Barry S. Perlman 4 Resolutions for the New Semester https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1508-4-resolutions-for-the-new-semester 2016-08-10T09:54:00-04:00 I want to be a better teacher this year than I was last year. Here’s what I plan to do differently. By David Gooblar