PicoFeed The Chronicle of Higher Education | Advice http://www.chronicle.com/section/Advice/66/ 2017-05-28T16:13:26-04:00 The Chronicle of Higher Education ISO … a Peer Mentor https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1809-iso-a-peer-mentor 2017-05-25T11:34:00-04:00 Why is it so difficult to find a midcareer mentor near my own age? By Jessica Pesce Why We Dread Disability Myths http://www.chronicle.com/article/Why-We-Dread-Disability-Myths/240156 2017-05-24T16:00:00-04:00 If institutions want to make good on their diversity promises, avoiding the deficiency trope is paramount. By Tara Wood, Craig A. Meyer, and Dev Bose The Tiny Yet Powerful Cover Letter https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1808-the-tiny-yet-powerful-cover-letter 2017-05-24T12:02:00-04:00 On the nonfaculty job market, this letter is your first impression. Make it count. By Melissa Dalgleish Foodnotes: Women’s Food Studies 101 http://www.chronicle.com/article/Foodnotes-Women-s-Food/240139 2017-05-24T12:00:00-04:00 Yes, I like to bake, and I’m a food historian. What of it? By Rachel Herrmann Tread Carefully With the Socratic Method https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1806-tread-carefully-with-the-socratic-method 2017-05-23T10:37:00-04:00 In these hypersensitive times, students don’t always understand the concept of devil’s advocate. By Rob Jenkins You Can’t Automate Good Teaching https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1804-you-can-t-automate-good-teaching 2017-05-22T09:25:00-04:00 Any professor who cares one whit about teaching understands that education involves a lot more than just conveying information. By Jonathan Rees The Joys and Downsides of Hate-Reading http://www.chronicle.com/article/The-JoysDownsides-of/240098 2017-05-21T19:00:00-04:00 Life’s too short to keep reading a book you hate. Why not stop? By Rachel Toor Why All Conferences Should Go Vegan https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1802-why-all-conferences-should-go-vegan 2017-05-18T11:36:00-04:00 A manifesto on behalf of meat-free meals at scholarly meetings and conferences. By Kirby Pringle We Keep Ignoring the Audience https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1801-we-keep-ignoring-the-audience 2017-05-17T10:11:00-04:00 Teaching graduate students to pay attention to whom they’re writing for could go a long way toward improving academic writing. By David Gooblar The Professor Is In: A Second Chance? https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1800-the-professor-is-in-a-second-chance/preview 2017-05-16T10:38:00-04:00 Would a spurned department offer a tenure-track job to a candidate who had already turned it down? By Karen Kelsky Now You’re in Charge https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1797-now-you-re-in-charge 2017-05-15T12:06:00-04:00 Warning: You may be surprised by the realities of an administrative position. By Allison M. Vaillancourt Administration 101: Part 5, Getting Your Name in the Real Pool http://www.chronicle.com/article/Administration-101-Part-5/240034 2017-05-14T19:00:00-04:00 What has to happen before you are invited to a first-round interview for an academic-leadership position. By David D. Perlmutter On Not Writing a Book Right Now http://www.chronicle.com/article/On-Not-Writing-a-Book-Right/240054 2017-05-14T19:00:00-04:00 Why I won’t be asking you about your next big project. By Chandra Manning The ‘Realistic’ Research Paper http://www.chronicle.com/article/The-Realistic-Research/240057 2017-05-14T19:00:00-04:00 How to use problem-solving and role-playing to help students write about something that matters to them. By Rob Jenkins Unexpected Careers https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1795-unexpected-careers 2017-05-11T10:38:00-04:00 Our Career Talk columnists talk with three Ph.D.s who ended up finding satisfying work outside their disciplines. By Jenny Furlong and Julie Miller Vick Fair Use Too Often Goes Unused http://www.chronicle.com/article/Fair-Use-Too-Often-Goes-Unused/240033 2017-05-10T19:00:00-04:00 Scholarly publishers want authors to get permission to reprint any image, but does the law always require it? By Noah Berlatsky From Bench Science to Academic Administration https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1794-from-bench-science-to-academic-administration 2017-05-10T10:26:00-04:00 A Ph.D. in psychology found her niche working with graduate students on their professional development. By Viviane Callier Handling Your Imperfect Adviser https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1793-handling-your-imperfect-adviser 2017-05-09T10:38:00-04:00 How to “manage up” and get what you need from your graduate supervisor. By Melanie Nelson The Bold Sabbatical http://www.chronicle.com/article/The-Bold-Sabbatical/240019 2017-05-09T10:30:00-04:00 Sure, you could stay home to work on the book, but this is no time to be timid. By Kevin O. Sauter Admin 101 http://www.chronicle.com/specialreport/Admin-101/115 2017-05-09T00:00:00-04:00 In this series, David D. Perlmutter writes about pursuing a career in academic administration and about surviving and thriving as a leader.