PicoFeed The Chronicle of Higher Education | Advice http://www.chronicle.com/section/Advice/66/ 2016-10-26T03:39:36-04:00 The Chronicle of Higher Education Community College FAQ: You Teach How Many Classes? https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1590-community-college-faq-you-teach-how-many-classes 2016-10-25T15:38:00-04:00 A look at the average teaching load for faculty at two-year campuses. By Rob Jenkins ‘Knowledge of X is Preferred’ https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1591-knowledge-of-x-is-preferred 2016-10-25T10:24:00-04:00 How can I boost my chances if I have everything else listed in the job ad except for X? By Karen Kelsky Tips for Managing Curmudgeons http://www.chronicle.com/article/Tips-for-Managing-Curmudgeons/238163 2016-10-24T19:00:00-04:00 How to approach faculty members who find your administrative buzzwords insufferable. By Alex Small Mountain Climbing and Dissertation Writing https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1587-mountain-climbing-and-dissertation-writing 2016-10-24T11:16:00-04:00 What an Everest climber taught me about surviving the post-Ph.D. blues. By Ariel Sophia Bardi Resisting the Urge to Profess http://www.chronicle.com/article/Resisting-the-Urge-to-Profess/238130 2016-10-23T19:00:00-04:00 Carrying on at length, about anything, is an occupational hazard in academe. By Rachel Toor 'Dear Forums ...': How Do I Create a Hiring Rubric? https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1586-dear-forums-how-do-i-create-a-hiring-rubric 2016-10-21T12:10:00-04:00 Also in our weekly roundup of the best conversations from The Chronicle's discussion forums: good extra-credit options for students and fair pay for department chairs.   Why Attend Conferences as a Freelance Academic? https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1585-why-attend-conferences-as-a-freelance-academic 2016-10-20T10:19:00-04:00 Here are some reasons to go if you can afford it. By Katie Rose Guest Pryal It's Not Too Late to Save the Stacks http://www.chronicle.com/article/Its-Not-Too-Late-to-Save-the/238106 2016-10-19T19:00:00-04:00 Why we still need to keep books in our campus libraries. By Ann E. Michael Doing Your Own Assignments First https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1583-doing-your-own-assignments-first 2016-10-19T10:15:00-04:00 An assignment is not just an instrument to measure learning, but also a way to engender it. By David Gooblar A Defense of the Multiple-Choice Exam http://www.chronicle.com/article/A-Defense-of-the/238098 2016-10-18T19:00:00-04:00 Its value may be limited, but there is no better way to test whether students have read the material. By Barbara Katz Rothman Lunch With Your Faculty Interviewers https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1581-lunch-with-your-faculty-interviewers 2016-10-18T10:56:00-04:00 Now is not the time for monologuing about yourself and your interests. By Karen Kelsky The Importance of Talking Explicitly About Race https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1577-the-importance-of-talking-explicitly-about-race 2016-10-18T10:43:00-04:00 That day in class, I learned how exhausting it must be to be a black student in America today. By Sharrona Pearl 8 Questions About ‘Free’ Community College http://www.chronicle.com/article/8-Questions-About-Free-/238060 2016-10-17T19:00:00-04:00 Is it just a gimmick? And if so, what is the goal? By Rob Jenkins How to Survive Rejection … Repeatedly https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1576-how-to-survive-rejection-repeatedly 2016-10-17T10:34:00-04:00 Across all genres of writing, the best advice on coping with the inevitability of rejection seems to be the same. By Theresa MacPhail 'Dear Forums ...': How Do I Live (Happily) in a Small, Isolated College Town? https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1579-dear-forums-how-do-i-live-happily-in-a-small-isolated-college-town 2016-10-14T11:23:00-04:00 Also in our weekly roundup of the best conversations from The Chronicle's discussion forums: reference checks, over-prepping for lectures, and negative comments in tenure letters.   DIY Syllabus: What Goes Into a Syllabus https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1575-diy-syllabus-what-goes-into-a-syllabus 2016-10-13T09:43:00-04:00 A good syllabus shows students why they get to take our course, not why they have to. By Kevin Gannon Vulnerable Observers: Notes on Fieldwork and Rape http://www.chronicle.com/article/Vulnerable-Observers-Notes-on/238042 2016-10-12T19:00:00-04:00 What does it mean to produce knowledge through an experience that includes trauma? By Mingwei Huang Tenure-Track Wisdom: Emily Van Duyne https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1574-tenure-track-wisdom-emily-van-duyne 2016-10-12T10:23:00-04:00 "The difference between being adjunct and full time can't really be overstated." By Dan Royles Cruelty and Kindness in Academia https://chroniclevitae.com/news/1572-cruelty-and-kindness-in-academia 2016-10-11T10:27:00-04:00 Why we value the former and underrate the latter. By Kelly J. Baker Why Isn’t There a Common App for Grant Proposals? http://www.chronicle.com/article/Why-Isn-t-There-a-Common-App/238032 2016-10-10T19:00:00-04:00 We need a standard application for nonfederal grants in the humanities, social sciences, and even in the sciences. By Susan M. Reverby