PicoFeed The Chronicle of Higher Education | Blogs http://www.chronicle.com/section/Blogs/164/ 2018-04-22T02:31:45-04:00 The Chronicle of Higher Education Weekend Reading: Late April Edition http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/weekend-reading-15/65405 2018-04-20T21:20:23-04:00 A Catalog of Cats http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/linguafranca/2018/04/19/a-catalog-of-cats/ 2018-04-19T17:47:33-04:00 Allan Metcalf has a dream vision almost like Caedmon’s, except the inspiration is feline. Capturing Text Quickly with Drafts 5 http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/capturing-text-quickly-with-drafts-5/65398 2018-04-19T17:34:59-04:00 Jason B. Jones previews the new version Drafts, the speedy iOS text editor with powerful automation features. Can You Explain What a Shibboleth Is? http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/linguafranca/2018/04/18/can-you-explain-what-a-shibboleth-is/ 2018-04-18T17:15:09-04:00 Hearing BBC Radio use the word incorrectly, Geoff Pullum examines its Hebrew etymology and ancient history. Tropy: A Tool I Wish I Had When Writing My Dissertation http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/tropy-a-tool-i-wish-i-had-when-writing-my-dissertation/65374 2018-04-18T08:00:07-04:00 Lee Skallerup Bessette laments that life was much harder for her when she was in grad school while looking at the new tool Tropy. The Weaponizing of ‘Slime’ http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/linguafranca/2018/04/17/the-weaponizing-of-slime/ 2018-04-17T17:00:55-04:00 Feeling stuck in the new wave of political-insult discourse? Bill Germano shares your pain. How to Teach the Rhythm of Language: Stop Counting Syllables! http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/linguafranca/2018/04/16/how-to-teach-the-rhythm-of-language-stop-counting-syllables/ 2018-04-16T18:11:07-04:00 No one reads aloud anymore, so to get students to grasp the meter of English, Lucy Ferriss plays hip-hop — and other strategies to let the poetry in. On Becoming "Mid-Career" http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/on-becoming-mid-career/65388 2018-04-16T08:00:57-04:00 Anastasia Salter reflects on some of the unanticipated wellness challenges that accompany the process of promotion. Why Is Everyone Saying ‘This President’? http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/linguafranca/2018/04/15/why-is-everyone-saying-this-president/ 2018-04-15T17:49:48-04:00 For both political sides, says Ben Yagoda, the phrase subtly implies that the leader in question is wholly unlike any of his predecessors, a stand against which it’s hard to argue. How Healthy is the Internet? http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/how-healthy-is-the-internet/65382 2018-04-13T08:41:26-04:00 Lee Skallerup Bessette dives into the Mozilla annual report on the health of the Internet. Much Ado About ‘Ado’ http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/linguafranca/2018/04/12/much-ado-about-ado/ 2018-04-12T17:46:18-04:00 Why does the tired phrase without further ado still get so much air time? William Germano investigates. 5 Tips for Would-Be Academic Book Authors http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/five-tips-for-would-be-academic-book-authors/65337 2018-04-12T08:00:53-04:00 Anastasia Salter shares a few tips for working on academic monographs. Hey, Where’d the ‘Tinfoil Hat’ Come From? http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/linguafranca/2018/04/11/hey-whered-the-tinfoil-hat-come-from/ 2018-04-11T18:06:58-04:00 The person wearing one is not the same as a “tin-pot despot,” Lucy Ferriss discovers. She uncovers the meanings of those and other stannic expressions. Technology for Arthritic Hands http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/technology-for-arthritic-hands/65345 2018-04-11T08:00:13-04:00 Maha Bali describes tools that assist people with the ailment. On Not Settling the 'Paper vs. Digital Notes' Debate http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/on-not-settling-the-paper-vs-digital-notes-debate/65360 2018-04-10T22:41:05-04:00 Does it even matter, after all, how you take your notes? Who's Polluting Whose English? http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/linguafranca/2018/04/10/whos-polluting-whose-english/ 2018-04-10T19:59:45-04:00 Is poppycock British or American? Take the quiz, which Ben Yagoda “nicked” from a new book, The Prodigal Tongue. When Martin Luther King Jr. Spoke at Cornell U. http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/linguafranca/2018/04/09/when-martin-luther-king-jr-spoke-at-cornell/ 2018-04-09T16:46:34-04:00 Allan Metcalf wrote in 1960 about his encounter with the most charismatic speaker he has ever met. Get Back Some Online Privacy with Facebook Container http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/get-back-some-online-privacy-with-facebook-container/65340 2018-04-09T09:00:24-04:00 Ryan Cordell describes how the Facebook Container extension for Firefox can prevent the social-media site from tracking users’ activities elsewhere on the web. Copy Editing and Proofreading a Book: It Takes a Village http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/linguafranca/2018/04/08/copy-editing-and-proofreading-a-book-it-takes-a-village/ 2018-04-08T11:07:57-04:00 Geoff Pullum tackles the editing and proofing of a short book on why linguistics matters, and is glad he wasn’t trying to do it alone. 4 Tips for Time-Saving Naming Conventions http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/time-saving-file-naming-conventions-4-tips/65319 2018-04-06T08:00:43-04:00 Maha Bali offers tips for naming conventions we can use for email subjects, calendar entries, Google Docs, and important attachments.