PicoFeed The Chronicle of Higher Education | ProfHacker http://www.chronicle.com/section/ProfHacker/438/ 2017-11-23T02:38:54-05:00 The Chronicle of Higher Education Weekend Reading: Thanksgiving Edition http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/weekend-reading-thanksgiving-edition-3/64596 2017-11-22T20:59:10-05:00 Games in the Classroom with The Twine Cookbook http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/games-in-the-classroom-with-the-twine-cookbook/64579 2017-11-21T08:33:34-05:00 Anastasia Salter shares the Twine Cookbook, a new open-source resource for educators working with Twine to incorporate games or hypertext into the classroom. Get Free Private GitHub Repositories Through GitHub Education http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/get-free-private-github-repositories-through-github-education/64570 2017-11-20T08:00:58-05:00 Ryan Cordell shares how students, educators, and researchers can apply for free Github accounts, including private repositories, through Github Education. News From the Omeka Project http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/news-from-the-omeka-project/64564 2017-11-16T17:27:46-05:00 Omeka is a web-based software application that provides open-source web-publishing platforms for sharing digital collections and creating media-rich online exhibits. This week the project announced that Omeka S has moved out of the beta stage.   Master New Instructional Moves http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/master-new-instructional-moves/64557 2017-11-15T19:23:26-05:00 Jason B. Jones points to a recent resource for teachers, Instructional Moves. Review: Using Digital Humanities in the Classroom http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/using-digital-humanities-in-the-classroom/64552 2017-11-14T08:00:51-05:00 Jason B. Jones reviews Using Digital Humanities in the Classroom, a new book by Claire Battershill and Shawna Ross.   Exercising with Anker's Wireless Soundbuds http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/exercising-with-ankers-wireless-soundbuds/64536 2017-11-13T11:00:50-05:00 Ryan Cordell recommends the Anker Soundbuds wireless headphones as a good-quality, affordable option for listening while exercising.   Weekend Reading: Algorithmic Futures Edition http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/weekend-reading-algorithmic-futures-edition/64522 2017-11-08T09:48:38-05:00 Anastasia Salter recommends a set of recent readings and videos. Equity in #EdTech: A Report Review http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/equity-in-edtech-a-report-review/64513 2017-11-08T08:00:23-05:00 Maha Bali and Autumm Caines review a recently published report on equity in education technology. Can You Fly Less? http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/can-you-fly-less/64509 2017-11-03T16:39:17-04:00 Jason Jones highlights the Flying Less project, which grapples with the real environmental cost of academic travel. Automating using APIs and Zapier http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/automating-using-apis-and-zapier/64468 2017-11-02T18:21:10-04:00 Automate your workflow using Zapier. Seeking Integrity in EdTech Research - Again http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/seeking-integrity-in-edtech-research-again/64497 2017-11-01T13:48:58-04:00 Autumm Caines and Maha Bali critique a recent study.   Scary Deep-Learning AI With Shelley http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/scary-deep-learning-ai-with-shelley/64489 2017-10-31T15:51:11-04:00 Guest Ryan Straight offered a horror-themed AI chatbot for Halloween.   Making HTML Sites with Bootstrap Starter Kit http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/making-html-sites-with-bootstrap-starter-kit/64461 2017-10-31T10:27:34-04:00 Make HTML websites that don't look hand-coded with Bootstrap Start Kit. Plan Videos with Storyboarder http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/plan-videos-with-storyboarder/64464 2017-10-27T13:54:35-04:00 Free and open source tool Storyboarder can create quick animations for projects. Some Guidelines for Using Twitter http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/some-guidelines-for-using-twitter/64481 2017-10-26T17:38:50-04:00 Jason Jones points to some excellent advice for academics thinking about starting out in social media. Digital Picketing http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/digital-picketing/64475 2017-10-25T09:33:47-04:00 A faculty strike in Ontario highlights the potential of digital picketing. The Nimble Tents Toolkit: Mobilizing Quickly for Disaster Relief & Other Causes http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/the-nimble-tents-toolkit/64471 2017-10-24T11:40:15-04:00 Jason B. Jones announces the launch of the Nimble Tents Toolkit, a set of guides to help universities, libraries, and digital scholarship labs mobilize in support of disaster relief or other causes. An Important Update to Spark http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/an-important-update-to-spark/64441 2017-10-19T08:00:07-04:00 Amy Cavender points readers to a useful new feature of a favorite email client. Taking Over a Class Mid-Semester http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/taking-over-a-class-mid-semester/64445 2017-10-16T19:48:18-04:00 Jason Jones discusses strategies to ensure a smooth transition.