PicoFeed The Chronicle of Higher Education | ProfHacker http://www.chronicle.com/section/ProfHacker/438/ 2016-12-08T18:53:52-05:00 The Chronicle of Higher Education Securing Your Data http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/securing-your-data/63325 2016-12-07T16:33:19-05:00 Even at the busiest times of the year, it's worthwhile to take basic steps to secure your data. Here are some ways to get started. Trailblazer Chrome Extension Tracks Your Research Path http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/trailblazer-chrome-extension-tracks-your-research-path/63306 2016-12-06T19:00:31-05:00 George H. Williams shares a tool that allows researchers to keep track of how they find information, not just what information they find. Alphabetizing Books Quickly: QuickSort, Insertion Sort, and Bubble Sort http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/alphabetizing-books-quickly-quicksort-insertion-sort-and-bubble-sort/63302 2016-12-05T15:19:02-05:00 Here's a handy video on organizing a large series of books, which is either a helpful lifehack or a way to illustrate sorting algorithms. Weekend Reading: Searching for Hope Edition http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/weekend-reading-searching-for-hope-edition/63282 2016-12-02T08:00:56-05:00 Lee Skallerup Bessette share some readings on finding hope. Listening to Student Voices at Academic Events http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/listening-to-student-voices-at-academic-events/63250 2016-12-01T08:00:54-05:00 We should always consider how it feels for students to be at events with mostly faculty attendees, how it affects their confidence in presenting and during social and networking breaks, writes Maha Bali. What’s your favorite note-taking app? http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/whats-your-favorite-note-taking-app/63257 2016-11-30T08:00:21-05:00 Amy Cavender gives a quick feature overview of some iPad apps for note-taking, shares her favorite, and asks readers to weigh in with their favorites. 6 More Games for After the Election http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/6-more-games-for-after-the-election/63242 2016-11-29T08:00:18-05:00 Anastasia Salter shares six games for thinking about post-election issues such as media influence, surveillance, economic precarity, segregation, and discrimination. Are You on Mastodon Yet? Social Network of Our Own http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/are-you-on-mastodon-yet-social-network-of-our-own/63261 2016-11-28T12:54:34-05:00 Maha Bali explores Mastodon.social and its potential as a social network of our own Quick photo scanning: Google PhotoScan http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/quick-photo-scanning-google-photoscan/63233 2016-11-23T08:00:59-05:00 Need to scan a few photos quickly? There's an app for that — and, as Amy Cavender notes, it does a reasonably good job. Getting More Done With Emoji http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/getting-more-done-with-emoji/63240 2016-11-22T16:04:05-05:00 Jason Jones looks at ways Slack and other groups are using emoji to make group communications more relevant.   Sticky Notes and Small Groups: Digital Work in the Classroom http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/sticky-notes-and-small-groups-digital-work-in-the-classroom/63204 2016-11-21T08:00:10-05:00 A better way to teach technical skills: detailed, illustrated tutorials that involve introducing participants to new and unfamiliar technologies. Weekend Reading: Post-Election Classroom Resources http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/weekend-reading-post-election-classroom-resources/63213 2016-11-18T13:00:20-05:00 Anastasia Salter shares a selection of weekend reading materials with resources for talking about the recent election in the classroom. Help Defray Scott Eric Kaufman's Medical Bills http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/help-defray-scott-eric-kaufmans-medical-bills/63218 2016-11-18T09:24:49-05:00 One of academic blogging's most valued voices could use a little help. Here's how to do it. Filenames and LaTeX and Pandoc, oh my! http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/filenames-and-latex-and-pandoc-oh-my/63169 2016-11-17T08:00:03-05:00 If you have a lot of files to convert from Word to PDF and you'd rather not use Google Drive to get the job done, Amy Cavender has a command-line solution to tell you about. 6 Games for Talking About the Election http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/6-games-for-talking-about-the-election/63202 2016-11-16T14:00:13-05:00 In the wake of the presidential election, Anastasia Salter shares a list of games that might provide useful starting points for classroom discourse. Stop The Spread of Fake News http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/stop-the-spread-of-fake-news/63183 2016-11-15T13:02:36-05:00 Resources for improving digital literacy and understanding the spread of fake news on social media. Election 2016: How Did Higher Ed Leaders Respond? http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/election-2016-how-did-higher-ed-leaders-respond/63156 2016-11-14T14:00:33-05:00 Guest author Robin DeRosa examines how the presidents of colleges and universities have publicly reacted, or not, to the election of Donald J. Trump as president of the United States. Election 2016: How Did Higher Ed Leaders Respond? http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/election-2016-how-did-higher-ed-leaders-respond/63156 2016-11-14T14:00:33-05:00 Guest author Robin DeRosa examines how the presidents of colleges and universities have publicly reacted, or not, to the election of Donald J. Trump as president of the United States. Election 2016: How Did Higher Ed Leaders Respond? http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/election-2016-how-did-higher-ed-leaders-respond/63156 2016-11-14T14:00:33-05:00 The guest author Robin DeRosa examines how college presidents have publicly reacted, or not, to the election of Donald J. Trump as president of the United States. Election 2016: How Did Higher Ed Leaders Respond? http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/election-2016-how-did-higher-ed-leaders-respond/63156 2016-11-14T14:00:33-05:00 The guest author Robin DeRosa examines how college presidents have publicly reacted, or not, to the election of Donald J. Trump as president of the United States.