PicoFeed The Chronicle of Higher Education | ProfHacker http://www.chronicle.com/section/ProfHacker/438/ 2016-09-30T08:00:55-04:00 The Chronicle of Higher Education Making Visual Novels with Ren'Py http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/making-visual-novels-with-renpy/62834 2016-09-29T11:00:30-04:00 Anastasia Salter continues her series on making games and interactive content in the classroom with a look at Ren'Py, a free tool for creating visual novels. How I Learned to Stop Resenting Blackboard and Start Using BB Grader http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/how-i-learned-to-stop-resenting-blackboard-and-start-using-bb-grader/62883 2016-09-28T18:45:03-04:00 George H. Williams explains why he's finally started using a Blackboard software product to grade student work. Get Your Internet Connection's Speed from Google http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/get-your-internet-connections-speed-from-google/62874 2016-09-27T17:57:32-04:00 Ever curious about the speed of your internet connection? Google can help. MLA Commons CORE and Open Access http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/mla-commons-core-and-open-access/62840 2016-09-26T08:00:10-04:00 Anastasia Salter takes a look at the current beta of the MLA's open-access repository. Do Your Students Take Good Notes? http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/do-your-students-take-good-notes/62864 2016-09-23T11:00:12-04:00 George H. Williams considers various ideas for encouraging students to take better notes. Back Up Your Files Now http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/back-up-your-files-now/62841 2016-09-22T08:00:51-04:00 ProfHacker's Natalie M. Houston reminds readers to invest in a solid backup solution. Have Your Accounts Been Compromised? http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/so-many-data-breaches/62850 2016-09-21T18:15:42-04:00 If you're too busy to keep up with all the data breaches that are in the news, there's still a way to stay secure. Virtual Techniques for Co-writing http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/virtual-techniques-for-co-writing/62792 2016-09-20T11:00:09-04:00 Anastasia Salter surveys her favorite tools for collaborative writing at a distance. Discriminatory Design in Education and Educational Technology http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/discriminatory-design-in-education-and-edtech/62807 2016-09-19T11:00:53-04:00 Maha Bali suggests we ask ourselves how our pedagogy and technology may be discriminatory by design Switching to a Tiling Window Manager, and Why You Might Want To http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/switching-to-a-tiling-window-manager-and-why-you-might-want-to/62802 2016-09-16T13:55:28-04:00 Nabeel Siddiqui explains the reasons why academics might want to try out a different desktop environment by using a tiling window manager. Haiku Deck Introduces "Classroom" Option http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/haiku-deck-introduces-classroom-option/62797 2016-09-15T11:00:21-04:00 It allows one teacher to take advantage of the features available through a Pro account. LibGuides: Best Use Scenarios? http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/libguides-best-use-scenarios/62790 2016-09-14T11:00:47-04:00 Rethinking his biases about this tool, George H. Williams asks the wise readers of ProfHacker for their input. Dropbox . . . How Could You ?!? http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/dropbox-how-could-you/62785 2016-09-13T18:14:39-04:00 The service appears to arrogate to itself the ability to control your Mac. Tips for Inclusive Teaching http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/tips-for-inclusive-teaching/62747 2016-09-12T08:00:03-04:00 Maha Bali teams up with Steve Greenlaw to offer tips for inclusive classroom practices.   Re-Thinking Students' Community Involvement and Education http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/re-thinking-students-community-involvement/62750 2016-09-09T08:00:10-04:00 When done well, these kinds of activities can benefit both students and the local community. College as Constant Restart: A Review of Practice for Life http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/college-as-constant-restart-a-review-of-practice-for-life/62769 2016-09-08T08:00:35-04:00 Practice for Life: Making Decisions in College is a book that emerged from years of surveys of and interviews with students at seven traditional New England liberal arts colleges. Jason B. Jones takes a look at how well the insights translate more broadly in higher ed. How to Use YouTube Live Streaming for Free Lecture Capture http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/how-to-use-youtube-live-streaming-for-free-lecture-capture/62751 2016-09-07T15:24:31-04:00 Guest author Tim Lepczyk explains how to use YouTube Live as a lecture capture tool. Peasy - Create a Simple Static Webpage http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/peasy-create-a-simple-static-webpage/62724 2016-09-06T08:00:51-04:00 Lee Skallerup Bessette introduces Peasy, a simple way to create and clone basic websites on your own domain. How to Store Your Twitter Archive on Github Pages http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/how-to-store-your-twitter-archive-on-github-pages/62727 2016-09-02T11:00:45-04:00 Martin Hawksey provides an explanation of one way to maintain your public archive of tweets. Scheduling 101: Using Calendly for Student Appointments http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/scheduling-101-using-calendly-for-student-appointments/62710 2016-09-01T08:00:33-04:00 ProfHacker's Natalie M. Houston reviews Calendly, a well-designed scheduling app that makes setting up appointments painless.