PicoFeed The Chronicle of Higher Education | ProfHacker http://www.chronicle.com/section/ProfHacker/438/ 2017-03-24T11:59:45-04:00 The Chronicle of Higher Education Save That Hashtag! Twitter Recorder Extension http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/save-that-hashtag-twitter-recorder/63772 2017-03-23T12:52:27-04:00 Lee Skallerup Bessette introduces a tool that can archive a hashtag even if you've forgotten to set one up. #LendMeALaptop http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/lendmealaptop/63783 2017-03-22T09:01:19-04:00 Maha Bali comments on the ban on laptops and tablets on certain flights from Muslim countries to the U.S. and U.K., which will directly affect her in two weeks' time.   How to Teach Students How to Read on Screens, and Why You Might Want To http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/how-to-teach-students-how-to-read-on-screens-and-why-you-might-want-to/63789 2017-03-21T18:52:21-04:00 Are you worried about finding students--or yourself!--reading more and more on screens? Jason Jones looks at some recent research suggesting ways to handle digital reading. Lower Ed: A (Brief) Review http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/lower-ed-a-brief-review/63769 2017-03-20T16:23:33-04:00 Lee Skallerup Bessette reviews the new book Lower Ed by Tressie McMillan Cottom. Weekend Reading: Pink Is a Strong Color http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/weekend-reading-pink-is-a-strong-color/63775 2017-03-17T15:23:22-04:00 On Friday afternoons, ProfHacker often provides a few links to interesting reads plus a video. Weekend Reading: Pink Is a Strong Color http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/weekend-reading-pink-is-a-strong-color/63775 2017-03-17T15:23:22-04:00 On Friday afternoons, ProfHacker often provides a few links to interesting reads plus a video. How to Simplify Flickr Photo Attribution http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/how-to-simplify-flickr-photo-attribution/63761 2017-03-17T13:40:02-04:00 George Williams explains how this simple browser bookmarklet makes it easy to credit the original creator of an image found on Flickr. Writing a Better Conference Abstract http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/writing-a-better-conference-abstract/63756 2017-03-15T21:14:50-04:00 Jason Jones points to a great resource.   Digital Humanities Training Opportunities and Challenges http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/digital-humanities-training-opportunities-and-challenges/63709 2017-03-14T08:00:32-04:00 Lee Skallerup Bessette explores the digital humanities training opportunities this summer and discusses some of the challenges faculty face in attending these programs. Use WAVE Tool to Test Web Pages for Accessibility http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/use-wave-tool-to-test-web-pages-for-accessibility/63744 2017-03-13T10:23:58-04:00 It's now compatible once again with the most recent updates to Firefox. Weekend Reading: No Sleep on Sunday Edition http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/weekend-reading-no-sleep-on-sunday-edition/63737 2017-03-10T20:41:58-05:00 Most weeks ProfHacker kicks off the weekend with five links worth reading, and a video worth watching. This week: Why Google is like Family Feud (but shouldn't be), how to do critical digital pedagogy in turbulent times, and much more! Culling Your Social Media Past http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/culling-your-social-media-past/63706 2017-03-09T08:00:08-05:00 Lee Skallerup Bessette explores ways to selective delete past tweets and other social-media posts. Alternatives to Storify (Revisited) http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/alternatives-to-storify-revisited/63731 2017-03-08T20:02:21-05:00 Using Text Analysis to Discover Work in JSTOR http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/using-text-analysis-to-discover-work-in-jstor/63723 2017-03-07T17:08:08-05:00 JSTOR has released a new tool that uses text analysis to surface articles in its database. Jason B. Jones takes a look. Why The Open Keynote Is Still Open http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/why-the-open-keynote-is-still-open/63712 2017-03-06T08:00:43-05:00 Maha Bali shares her process of working on an upcoming keynote (her first) and why it's still "open." Data Security and International Travel http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/data-security-and-international-travel/63661 2017-03-03T08:00:36-05:00 International travel is bringing new concerns around data privacy when crossing the border. Lee Skallerup Bessette considers a few possible solutions. Going Digital With Annual Review, Tenure & Promotion Materials http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/going-digital-with-annual-review-tenure-promotion-materials/63659 2017-03-02T08:00:56-05:00 Anastasia Salter shares advice.   Open Thread: What's Your (Digital) Activism? http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/open-thread-whats-your-digital-activism/63686 2017-03-01T08:00:39-05:00 Maha Bali discusses a few examples of digital activism and asks readers to contribute their own Getting Rid of Old Books http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/getting-rid-of-old-books/63637 2017-02-28T08:00:02-05:00 Lee Skallerup Bessette explores strategies for culling your personal library when you find yourself with too many books. Rhizcomics and the Future of Scholarly Forms http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/rhizcomics-and-the-future-of-scholarly-forms/63679 2017-02-27T08:00:29-05:00 Anastasia Salter reviews a new open-access, born-digital book by Jason Helms: Rhizcomics: Rhetoric, Technology, and New Media Composition.