PicoFeed The Chronicle of Higher Education | ProfHacker http://www.chronicle.com/section/ProfHacker/438/ 2017-06-27T16:54:23-04:00 The Chronicle of Higher Education Changes to Photo Site Unsplash http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/changes-to-unsplash/64198 2017-06-26T16:25:14-04:00 Unsplash, a popular site for public domain/CC0 images, has recently changed its licensing. Read about how and why. Confronting Your Book Collection http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/confronting-your-book-collection/64174 2017-06-23T12:43:19-04:00 Anastasia Salter discusses the challenges of academic spring cleaning in a world of physical media. Firefox Focus Now Available for Android http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/firefox-focus-now-available-for-android/64184 2017-06-21T17:43:02-04:00 Firefox Focus, a privacy-oriented web browser for mobile devices, is now available for Android devices. On Writing: Paul J. Silvia http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/on-writing-paul-j-silvia/64177 2017-06-20T08:00:48-04:00 ProfHacker’s Natalie M. Houston discusses Paul J. Silvia’s advice about making progress with your writing. Match Your Tasks to Your Energy Level http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/match-your-tasks-to-your-energy-level/64166 2017-06-13T08:00:27-04:00 ProfHacker’s Natalie M. Houston discusses how to match different kinds of work to your natural energy cycle. Twitter Continues to Fail at Handling Harassment http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/twitter-continues-to-fail-at-handling-harassment/64151 2017-06-06T15:52:14-04:00 Kate Bowles and Maha Bali critique Twitter's failure to meet its promises to address harassment and abuse on the platform. International Travel: A Good Reason to Have Two Google Accounts http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/international-travel-a-good-reason-to-have-two-google-accounts/64139 2017-05-31T08:00:19-04:00 On return to the United States, it’s a simple matter to gather all the photos and other material from a trip. Thinking Digital with External Review Materials http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/thinking-digital-with-external-review-materials/64127 2017-05-30T08:00:34-04:00 Anastasia Salter discusses strategies and design principles for thinking about digital materials in the external tenure-review process. Preview: Books I'll Be Reading This Summer http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/preview-books-ill-be-reading-this-summer/64049 2017-05-26T08:00:42-04:00 Maha Bali previews three books she plans to read. Why and How to Make Your PDFs Searchable http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/why-and-how-to-make-your-pdfs-searchable/64108 2017-05-25T08:00:12-04:00 Not all PDFs are created equally, writes Amy Cavender. To enhance searchability and accessibility, here’s what you should do.   Open Thread Wednesday: Online Class and Virtual Attendance Challenges http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/open-thread-wednesday-online-class-and-virtual-attendance-challenges/64053 2017-05-24T08:00:06-04:00 Anastasia Salter takes a look at challenges of virtual "attendance" and student expectations in online courses, particularly during summer travel season. How to Make a Time Map for the Summer http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/how-to-make-a-time-map-for-the-summer/64099 2017-05-23T08:00:10-04:00 ProfHacker’s Natalie M. Houston discusses the benefits of creating a template of your ideal week. Review: The Interactive Past http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/review-the-interactive-past/64090 2017-05-22T08:00:23-04:00 Anastasia Salter reviews a new open-access collection on archaeology and games. Openness, Permission, Courtesy and Nuances of Licenses http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/openness-permission-courtesy-and-nuances-of-licenses/64067 2017-05-18T08:00:17-04:00 Maha Bali explores some of the nuances in how we give permissions and licenses. Open-Thread Wednesday: What’s Your Preferred File Type? http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/open-thread-wednesday-whats-your-preferred-file-type/64040 2017-05-17T08:00:28-04:00 Amy Cavender wants to know: Do you prefer plain text, RTF, DOCX, PDF, or something else? How to Learn Better With Ulrich Boser http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/how-to-learn-better-with-ulrich-boser-2/64076 2017-05-16T08:32:21-04:00 ProfHacker’s Natalie M. Houston reviews Learn Better by Ulrich Boser.   Weekend Reading: Mid-May Edition http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/weekend-reading-mid-may-edition/64043 2017-05-12T21:18:19-04:00 An Easy macOS Script for Converting Images to PDFs http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/an-easy-macos-script-for-converting-images-to-pdfs/64036 2017-05-11T18:33:23-04:00 Jason Jones points to an easy script for converting images to black-and-white PDFs, which is handy for dealing with paperwork. Open Thread Wednesday http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/open-thread-wednesday-68/64031 2017-05-10T08:13:59-04:00 Marking up Mobile Photos with Annotable http://www.chronicle.com/blogs/profhacker/marking-up-mobile-photos-with-annotable/64022 2017-05-09T18:02:37-04:00 Jason Jones looks at Annotable, an app for marking up iOS screenshots.